Food I made

Another post of food I made.  This time it is, Irish Car Bomb Jello shots,  sour cream pork chops and hot cocoa cookies.

Found via Pinterest (surprise!) via Endless Simmer, I decided to give it a go.  I concluded between making the champagne jello shots and these, that I am going to attempt the wine jello shot, but it will really be for a taste, and little alcohol.  Whatever, I have twenty envelopes of this jello left over!
.
.
gotta let it bloom.
.

The trick is to cook it slow, so the already low alcohol doesn’t burn out.  So doing this with wine.
.
.
.
.
While the recipe calls for 4 packets for 12 ounces, I wish I would have reduced it, I like my jello just a touch soft, and this was pretty stiff out of the fridge, but does run pretty cold, I noticed when I left it out, it was a little better texture wise, but any longer and the taste would have been off. I don’t think this will be an issue with wine, but I am glad I tried it this way first.  You know, the lazy way.
.
.
oh! And let us not forget the first test batch.. When did I know it was going wrong, when I realized I didn’t chill properly.  Huh.


.
So for Monday dinner, I try and cook… something since I am usually off, or can swing something in the crock pot.   Anyways, I made sour cream pork chops, so we could not waste the sour cream, and so I didn’t have to use a can of cream of mushroom soup, divided.  As I was getting the dough for the cookies ready (yeah, I made cookies, too!), I realized my timing was early, so I marinated the pork chops in the ginger soy sauce from Zen Bento.  Then you press those bad boys into a flour mix and brown them up.  The sour cream mix was perfect, just the cream I was looking for to pour over for the bake.
.
.
.
.
.
Ha HAAaa, do not attempt to adjust your monitor, this is a mashed butternut and acorn squash.
.
.
.
I made cookies because I was craving them lately and Oreos and Chips Ahoy are the front runners but seeing how home made cookies just rock.  My original intent was to use up the sour cream, but these cookies just took it and ran.
.
The ‘ol Oster tabletop mixer.  I do underestimate her, but when I bring it out, she never lets me down.
.
The recipe I used said she was putting her mixer to work after adding the chips.  That is when I dig out the dough hooks.  I love these things.
.
form and bake while watching a Bb streaming event…
.
.
.
A note, the website for these cookies is currently unavailable.  I copy recipes very very poorly.  I also halved the batch.  Here is the next best thing.  Oh e-savior Pinterest, I pinneth thee.  
.
Another post about food, another week of cooking to do.  I am getting ready to go on a meat run for the week.  I am stuck on a shredded chicken… But what to slow cook it in.. off to (St.) Pinterest!!

.
.
.

One response to “Food I made

  1. Pingback: Beverage Medley – I Wined | r a b b i t h o l e

Leave a Reply

