Food I (We) Made – Tri Tip, Coffee and Cupcakes

Some time ago, we got some Living Social coupons for a bunch of meat from Porterhouse Meats in Eagle, we got some New York strips, a giant corned beef and this.  The tri tip.  It came with a southwest type rub on it so all we had to do was throw this bad boy on the grill.  Low, indirect heat for an hour and a half, we were all drooling.
.
.
This was an nontraditional weeknight dinner, since my exif data tells me I shot these on a Thursday.  Then I remember I did my Mom’s hair that afternoon, and she told me to make a gravy and serve it with some egg noodles.  Um, this is why we have parents, among the many things they provide, food advice.
This was also a night where I posted to Facebook that I cook with a spatula in one hand, and a camera in the other.  
.
The wine we served it with was from Revelry, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, and Cabernet Franc.  A great blend.  I was having trouble eating the meat and drinking the wine, I didn’t want either to finish.  This is a winery in Walla Walla.  This was our last tasting room stop from our first trip there.
.
This needs to be repeated.
.
.
Next up is cold brewed iced coffee.  This is starting to get to slow cooker pulled pork status.  I have been making this once a week.  I like to cold brew overnight if I don’t work the next day.  It’s so easy to pour it all in together, go to work, then strain out while dinner is in it’s simmer and leave alone phase.
.
I also got a bigger wire strainer since then.
.
Getting better at setting up for shooting.  I draped something over wine bottle and a cereal box.  Bam, background.
.

Last and certainly not least are the tiramisu cupcakes.  I thought, at work, we buy each other dresses for birthdays, since the cakes get half lifed.  It was my birthday, so I wanted to make cupcakes for my salon ladies.  One serving, not so guilty, right??  Bonus?  They are gluten free so our recptionist and a few select friends can enjoy one and have their bodies not be mad at them.
Homemade ladyfingers. Oh yeah, recipe from Cupcake Project.  Ummm, yeah, lets just say this website will give me plenty of content for the rabbithole. 
.

.

.
I love whipping cream.
.
I was glad to take the finish pictures at the salon.  We got these new casual chairs and I love love love them, keep an eye out for them in some Bespoke shots!
.
They are gluten free, so you can have two.
.
More food.  I am revisiting some cookies into gluten free and something I found is my chewy soft is gone.  So I Googled it and found an Alton Brown recipe.  The secret ingredient?  Xantham gum and cornstarch.  This weekend has just been planned.  David Sedaris, America’s test kitchen manicotti, found out the fiance will do anything for it.  And attempting a chewy gluten free cookie.
.
.

Leave a Reply

